

April 13, 2017

Leslie S. Laudon
Deputy Director
Division of Financial Assistance
State Water Resources Control Board
1001 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Leslie.Laudon@waterboards.ca.gov

Subject: Acceptance of San Diego Region Storm Water Resource Plan into the San Diego Integrated Regional Water Management Plan

Dear Ms. Laudon,

The San Diego Regional Water Management Group (RWMG) – comprised of the San Diego County Water Authority, the City of San Diego, and the County of San Diego and representing the San Diego Integrated Regional Water Management (IRWM) Program – accepts the *San Diego Region Storm Water Resource Plan* (SWRP) into the *2013 San Diego IRWM Plan*. The *San Diego Region SWRP* addresses the requirements listed in California Water Code §10560 et seq. and is consistent with the *2015 SWRP Guidelines* (State Water Resources Control Board, December 2015). A draft *San Diego Region SWRP* was released on December 5, 2016 and presented in a joint workshop to the San Diego IRWM Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) on December 7, 2016. Following receipt of public comments, the final *San Diego Region SWRP* was released on April 3, 2017. On April 5, 2017, the RAC recommended that the *San Diego Region SWRP* be accepted into the *2013 San Diego IRWM Plan*. However, the RAC encourages the State to provide flexibility in prioritizing storm water and dry weather runoff projects to entities that may not have permanent funding sources, such as non-profit organizations (see *2015 SWRP Guidelines*, page 29).

Although the San Diego Region has historically been successful in collecting and using storm water for water supply in reservoirs located in the upper watersheds, storm water has not been viewed as a substantial opportunity for water supply in the lower, urbanized watersheds. This is due to a combination of factors, including lack of large or usable aquifers for recharge and water quality concerns that limit traditional reuse opportunities. Development of the *San Diego Region SWRP* will assist entities in identifying opportunities to use storm water and dry weather runoff as a resource, and may aid in meeting compliance with applicable municipal separate storm

sewer system (MS4) permits and total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). The *San Diego Region SWRP* lists and prioritizes projects designed to 1) capture storm water and dry weather runoff for potential future use, 2) provide multiple benefits to maximize water supply, water quality, environmental and other community benefits, and 3) reduce non-point pollution that storm water carries to receiving water bodies.

Per Senate Bill (SB) 985 and the *Proposition 1 2016 IRWM Guidelines* (California Department of Water Resources, July 2016), the *2013 San Diego IRWM Plan* hereby incorporates the *San Diego Region SWRP*. Further, in 2017-2018, the *San Diego IRWM Plan* will be updated to include a comprehensive storm water resources analysis, such that a clear and well understood description of storm water in the region is easily accessible and is integrated into the overall water resources management framework for the San Diego Region. The work done in the *San Diego Region SWRP* is well-aligned with planned *San Diego IRWM Plan* updates and will complement additional storm water programs and projects underway within the region.

Sincerely,

Mark Stadler

San Diego IRWM Program Manager San Diego County Water Authority

Marb SC

Cc:

Senator Joel Anderson

Senator Patricia Bates

Senator Toni Atkins

Senator Ben Hueso

Assemblymember Randy Voepel

Assemblymember Marie Waldron

Assemblymember Rocky Chavez

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein

Assemblymember Todd Gloria

Assemblymember Shirley Weber

Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez

John Laird, Secretary for Natural Resources

Keith Wallace, Department of Water Resources

Gary Bardini, Department of Water Resources

Arthur Hinojosa, Department of Water Resources

Regional Advisory Committee

Regional Water Management Group

- Bob Yamada, Dana Friefhauf, and Mark Stadler, San Diego County Water Authority
- Lan Wiborg and Andrew Funk, City of San Diego
- Ramin Abidi and Stephanie Gaines, County of San Diego

Water Supply

- Bill Hunter and Michael Bardin, Santa Fe Irrigation District
- Greg Thomas and Julia Escamilla, Rincon del Diablo Municipal Water District
- Brian Olney and Michelle Berens, Helix Water District
- Ron Mosher and Michael Garrod, Sweetwater Authority
- Kimberly Thorner and Joey Randall, Olivenhain Municipal Water District

Water Quality

- Justin Gamble, City of Oceanside and Alicia Appel, City of Escondido
- Chris Helmer, City of Imperial Beach and Joe Kuhn, City of La Mesa
- Meredith Meyers and Kristin Kuhn, San Diego CoastKeeper
- Janice DuVall and Bob Mueller, San Diego County Board of Education
- Roberto Yano, City of Chula Vista and Yazmin Arellano, City of El Cajon
- Mike Thornton and Chris Trees, San Elijo Joint Powers Authority

Natural Resources and Watersheds

- Phil Pryde and Rob Hutsel, San Diego River Park Foundation
- Sandra Jacobson and Jack Marshall, California Trout
- Al Lau and Arne Sandvik, Padre Dam Municipal Water District
- Kimberly O'Connell and Julie Hampel, UCSD Clean Water Utility
- Robin Rierdan, Lakeside River Park Conservancy and Julia Richards, San Diego River Conservancy

<u>Disadvantaged Communities / Environmental Justice</u>

- Oscar Romo, AlterTerra
- Olga Morales and Jennifer Hazard, Rural Community Assistance Corporation

Other Members

- Mark Seits and Alex Yescas, Floodplain Management Association
- Michael McSweeney and Wayne Rosenbaum, Building Industry Association of San Diego
- John Flores, San Pasqual Band of Mission Indians and Rob Roy, La Jolla Band of Indians
- Sarah Pierce and Keith Greer, San Diego Association of Governments
- Ann Van Leer and Betsy Keithley, Escondido Creek Conservancy
- Robyn Badger and Kelly Craig, Zoological Society of San Diego
- Eric Anderson, San Diego Farm Bureau

Regulatory / Tri-County FACC (Non-Voting)

- Laurie Walsh and Dave Gibson, San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board
- Jack Simes and Leslie Cleveland, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
- Justin Haessly, Rancho California Water District
- Marilyn Thoms and Jenna Voss, County of Orange
- John Simpson and Khalique Khan, USMC Camp Pendleton
- Emily Fudge, U.S. Forest Service, Cleveland National Forest
- Sean Bush, U.S. Indian Health Services